skip navigation
Home Calendar News 2014 Player Fees Board 2014 Tryouts

Home of the Indiana Prospects

Mission Statement

The Mission of the Indiana Prospects Baseball Organization is TOTAL PLAYER DEVELOPMENT. We strive to provide our players with superior training, knowledge and the highest level of competition possible.

Through our organization, each player will acquire the necessary experience to succeed at the high school, college and professional level. With our "Best in Class" coaching staff and training facilities, our players receive unparalleled skill development and compete against other national baseball organizations. We work closely with high school and college coaches, as well as professional scouts to insure that our players receive the maximum exposure at each level of competition. 

Prospects Headlines

Recruiting Coordinator

The Prospects welcome Chad Hinds on board as the new recruiting coordinator for age groups 8u thru 13u.  Chad has coached travel baseball for the past six years; most recently with the Indiana Mustangs prior to joining the Indiana Prospects this season and played middle infield at Muncie South and the University of St. Francis.  With a successful past in coaching, Chad’s philosophy in building and sustaining a winning culture revolves around fundamentally sound, versatile skill sets and developing high baseball IQ.  His widespread scouting/recruitment reach will enable the Prospects to continue identifying and developing talented young baseball players at every age level.

Hitting/Catching Instruction

Jeff Surbey, our 17u coach, is providing hitting and catching instruction at Trinity Ball Park.  Jeff has many years of baseball experience and is well worth the investment.  Jeff can be contacted at 317-796-9613 or jeffsurbey@gmail.com.

Montgomery, Gatto and 17u Team Highlighted by Perfect Game

Jarrett Montgomery (Lawrence Central HS, Indiana Prospects Class of 2015), Joe Gatto (St. Augustine HS, Indiana Prospects Class of 2014) and the 17u team were recently focused by Perfect Game in articles surrounding the national championships that take place in June and July.  Its no surprise that these players continue to shine on and off the field which only bolsters the reputation the organization has for producing high level baseball players and men.

Jarrett's article:  http://www.perfectgame.org/articles/View.aspx?article=8792

Joe's article:  http://www.perfectgame.org/Articles/View.aspx?article=8767

17u article:  http://www.perfectgame.org/Articles/View.aspx?article=8820

Trey Ball

Trey Ball leads the 2013 American Family Insurance ALL-USA Baseball Team


Trey Ball, LHP-OF
New Castle, Ind.
6-5.Wt.: 175.
Bats: Left. Throws: Left.

College/major league draft (round): Texas/Boston Red Sox, No. 7 overall (first round; signed).

Key stats: Went 6-0 with a 0.76 earned run average and 93 strikeouts in 46 innings. Also hit .329 with 10 homers, 41 runs, 29 RBI and 21 steals.

Wood bat: The past two summers, we used wood bats in every tournament. I figured this year, I could hit with wood during the high school season to show I can hit with wood(since he could be a pitcher or position player as a pro). I felt like it worked out. I only broke one bat all season. I think there was maybe one homer I would have had with metal that I didn’t get because I was hitting a wood bat.

Season highlight: Winning the North Central Conference championship. It was the first time we won it outright. We also set a new record for wins (22). This town (home of Steve Alford) is known for basketball, so it was nice to put baseball on the map.

Favorite video game: Usually in the offseason, I’m a Call of Duty guy. During the season, I stay away from video games.

Listening to: I’ll listen to a variety of things to get the blood flowing.

Embarrassing moment: Last summer, in the Perfect Game All-American Classic, I was in left field and a ball came to me. I was thinking about the throw home and the ball skipped when I went to field it and it went beside my glove. It was on national TV and everything, but fortunately because of the three-hour time difference, not a lot of people here saw it.

Indiana Prospects represented well in early rounds of MLB Draft


Trey Ball selected by the Red Sox with #7 overall pick


Player: Trey Ball, Indiana Prospects Class of 2013
Position: LHP/OF
School: New Castle (IN)
Date of Birth: 6/27/1994
Height/Weight: 6’6/175
Bats/Throws: L/L
2013 Class: Senior
Committed To: Texas

Scouting Report:

Trey Ball may be the top two-way prospect eligible for the 2013 draft. While he shows potential with the bat, those I have talked with about Ball see his future on the mound.

  • Very athletic
  • Fastball 90-93
  • Change 78-80
  • Slider 80-84
  • Holds velocity well
  • Easy, quick arm
  • 3/4 arm slot
  • High leg kick
  • Smooth swing
  • Hits to opposite field
  • Good power potential
  • 6.67 in the 60


  • 2012 All-Area Code Team
  • 2012 Baseball America 3rd Team High School All-American
  • 2012 ESPNHS 3rd Team High School All-American
  • 2012 Under Armour All-American
  • 2012 Perfect Game Underclass 1st Team
  • 2012 ESPNHS Preseason All-State
  • 2012 All-North Central Conference
  • 2011 Perfect Game Underclass High Honorable Mention
  • 2011 Area Code Games
  • 2011 All-North Central Conference

Conrad Gregor selected by the Astros in the 4th Round

Player: Conrad Gregor, Indiana Prospects Class of 2010
Position: 1B
School: Vanderbilt
Date of Birth: 2/27/1992
Height/Weight: 6’3/215
Bats/Throws: L/R
2013 Class: Junior
Previously Drafted: 2010, 40th Rd, White Sox

Scouting Report:

At the Cape in 2012, Conrad Gregor began to show the power that scouts have been waiting to see him display in games. If the power numbers carry over to the spring, Gregor will be one of the more interesting bats eligible for the 2013 draft.

  • Good athlete, especially for a 1B
  • Open stance
  • Nice, short swing
  • Very good approach at the plate
  • excellent strike zone judgment
  • Good raw power
  • Solid defense at first
  • Strong arm
  • Hard working, hustling player


  • 2012 Named the #12 Prospect in the CCBL by Perfect Game
  • 2012 CCBL All-Star
  • 2012 Raleight Regional All-Tournament Team
  • 2011 Named the #2 Prospect in the New England League by Perfect Game
  • 2011 Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American
  • 2011 Regional All-Tournament Team

Trey Ball

Trey Ball Named Gatorade Player of the Year

Trey Ball (New Castle HS, Indiana Prospects Class of 2013) was recently named by Gatorade as the Indiana Baseball Player of the Year.

Athletic achievement: He led the Trojans (22-7) to the Class 4A sectional semifinals, scheduled to begin May 27. At the time of his selection, Ball owned a 6-0 record, a 0.76 ERA and 93 strikeouts in 46 innings. A 2012 Aflac All-American and a 2012 Under Armour All-American, he is also batted .329 with nine home runs, 40 runs scored, 28 RBI and 20 stolen bases.

Academic excellence: Ball has maintained a 3.65 GPA.

Exemplary character: A member of the National Honor Society, he has volunteered locally on behalf of multiple community service initiatives in association with his church youth group.

THE FUTURE: Ball has signed with Texas, but is projected as an early round selection in next month’s Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

College Comittments